• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Power transformer HT/B+ voltages

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
My question is further down in bold.

Hello everyone - I'm new to these forums and hope they'll prove to be useful as it seems to have helped a lot of you.

I'm also (relatively) new to electronics. While in high school I took some classes in electronics, so I have a basic understanding of it. And I'm also studying an engineering program with a pretty good amount of physics in it. So I have a theoretical understanding of what's going on in electrical circuits. Up until now I haven't really seen any benefit of knowing electronics.

What's different now?

I want to build myself a tube amp for guitar.

I'm trying to understand the design of the schematics I've read and how to alter them in a proper way for my own projects. I understand there's a certain level of complexity in these circuits - and I'm not here to learn how to develop similar circuits from scratch. I just want a working knowledge of how to alter them for my own needs.

Ultimately I want to build a guitar amplifier with a preamp based on channel 2 from a Mesa Boogie three channel Dual Rectifier, vintage model/gain/voicing setting with a solid state rectifier and "bold" power settings, paired with a ~5 watt, or so, preferably 6L6 power amp (based on the fact that I've had my best experience with 6L6 amps). The key to this is the word ultimately, as in "not next week, or month". I do not wish to do this to save money, but as a learning project.