• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Pentode buffer.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Why Pentode based? After having looked around at a lot of tube designs, starting off with Triode based designs (one of which I built based on an Aikido CCDS but gave way too much gain for what I was after) I 'think' that a Pentode based design is perhaps better for a buffer?

I am no expert, but, your reason to go pentode doesn't seems to make sense?

I assume you mean the CCDA by John Broskie? If it has too much gain, yes you should give unity gain buffer a shot, but I don't see why you should limit yourself to pentode. And in fact you knew that in your schematic you are using the pentode as triode.

Not sure if you are aware of it, Broskie also has unity gain buffer PCBs, which IHMO is what you should be building instead of the CCDA

Aikido Cathode Follower PCB
ACF-2 Octal Aikido Cathode Follower Kit

I am no expert, but, your reason to go pentode doesn't seems to make sense?
Perhaps not my friend! Perhaps not. It just seemed to work & do what I wanted (when simulated). The thing against using them (I guess) is akin to using a sledgehammer to crack a nut.

I assume you mean the CCDA by John Broskie?
Yep.

If it has too much gain, yes you should give unity gain buffer a shot, but I don't see why you should limit yourself to pentode.
Not really limiting myself to just using pentodes, just that I could not find a simple Triode design to do what I wanted (as above)...

Not sure if you are aware of it, Broskie also has unity gain buffer PCBs, which IHMO is what you should be building instead of the CCDA