PCB copy rights/writes ?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi , I have a small PCB which I bought of a commercial retailer. Its the third one because I have been experimenting with layout and parts. The latest PCB I bought is perfect for my project, the layout is excellent and the dimensions for my hand made enclosure is perfect to. But the question is if I send that PCB off to a manufacturer for a quote I must be doing some sort of copywrite infringement or do I use software and to copy the layout / dimensions etc and send that? The simple fact is that as a fairly new hobbyist I can’t improve on the board.
Any advice please ?

Is the use you're going to use it for significantly different that what the original PCB was intended for? Because even if something isn't copyrighted, you're not allowed to use a specific design without prior written consent, if the use is similar to what the original design was intended for.

Copying a layout is again breaking copyright laws, it is reverse engineering a design.

I sort of knew the answer but need to clarify it by you guys, I would be well hacked off if I had spent ages refining a build only for someone to claim it. So I’m totally agreeing with the copy right laws.
I have an Idea though, I don’t mind buying the boards of the retailer the cost is fine and they are excellent quality, I may ask them if they would supply me with some unbranded ones.
If that fails I will be back to see if anyone else has any ideas lol J

Just down the raod from me Fivetide, I'm in sunny Blackburn.
It is dodgy ground, because even if you copy a layout and change the physical apearence you are still basing it on the same circuit diagram. Quite often the best way is to do as you are thinking and licence a product, or if there is a standard recomended circuit (quite often forund on data sheets) use that and have your own board done.