Noise from Ceramic Coupling Capacitors?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all,

I'm new to DIY forums but thought I start off with a question that I can't find a direct answer to, and some photos of my recent tinkering which might help get me out of the moderation loop.

I recently converted an 8303-20 Magnavox single-ended tube amp to a stand alone. I'm using it exclusively for my U-Turn Orbit turntable.

After the cosmetic work and replacing all of the electrolytic capacitors it played beautifully, but had a hum/buzz at the far side of the volume knob (lowest attenuation, about 3/4 volume). I assumed 60hz hum, ground loop from the mostly original wiring, but after replacing the ceramic coupling capacitors (.01uf) with orange drops (.022uf) the noise is gone.

Can ceramic capacitors pick up noise and insert it into the signal path? Could the increase in capacitance be the reason that the hum disappeared?

Thanks for the thoughts.
Sean

finished-front.jpg

finished-back.JPG

scorron said:
After the cosmetic work and replacing all of the electrolytic capacitors it played beautifully, but had a hum/buzz at the far side of the volume knob (lowest attenuation, about 3/4 volume).
You mean there was a buzz coming from the vicinity of the pot, or there was a buzz from the speakers when the pot was in the 3/4 position?

Ceramic coupling caps would be unusual in an audio amp, although common in wireless sets. Changing the value is unlikely to affect hum.

Can ceramic capacitors pick up noise and insert it into the signal path?
Yes, perhaps, if they are high-k ceramics. That is why they are avoided in serious audio amps. However, you have buzz not noise or microphony so unlikely to be what was happening.

Could the increase in capacitance be the reason that the hum disappeared?
Unlikely.