Newbie Help: FH3, Pensil or Fostex?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am new to the forum and let me just say I am blown away by the creativity and expertise demonstrated here. Here's my question: after years of living with Original Large Advents in my main system, I want to move into the full range driver world. Since the space is also shared with a home theater setup, I would like to have bass down into the 40hz range, but it's really a 80/20 music/movie space and most of my listening will be done at night when the kids are down (no Zeppelin). It is 25x15 feet room with two openings on both ends of the long wall. For now my amplification will be a Marantz PM5004 but I will upgrade to tubes in the next 2-3years. I have some experience with saws but will probably employ my local woodworker shop to cut the wood to spec ($60 per hour). Based on my budget constraints of $400, I have narrowed it down to these three designs.

Frugel Horn with Mark Audio Alpair 7
Pensil with Mark Audio Alpair 7
Fostex FE206en in this bass reflex design:My hope is that one of these designs will give me something I don't have with the Advents: wide and deep sound stage, clarity, and mid range. So what say you?

Hi, Dave. Thanks for the input, since I wasn't sure which design had lower bass. But would the Pensil sacrifice anything in imaging/soundstage?

Also, are Alpair 7s like Fostex speakers in that you need a very quick subwoofer for a match? I have a decent Polk Audio sub but am worried it won't integrate very well? Thanks again for your input!

Of many MA and Fostex-driven speakers I've built, the MA A7 Pencils image/soundstage spectacularly and have the sweetest most detailed mids/highs of them all.

But yes, if you'd like to add a subwoofer to the mix, it will need to be fast and light on its feet. You'll likely be surprised, however, at the bass the A7s produce in their Pencil cabinets.

Mario