• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

New tube DIY'er with an HK A300

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm new to the tube amp world. I've been doing general electronics building for a long time. Mostly from kits and making general repairs. No real experience diagnosing / tracing problems etc. My daughter recently bought a mid century modern stereo tube console. I rebuilt the capacitor can with a piece of PVC pipe. (haha- no one can see it mounted and no room underneath). It sounded so much better than I thought for a 7W/ch amp! So, I recently purchased a Harmon Kardon A300 for a fair price that also sounds great. The coupling caps were already replaced. I feel another hobby coming on!

I'd like to clean up a few things then maybe rebuild the amp and build a wood cabinet for it.
ok, one issue at a time:
#1: I don't think the preamp section can possibly be working right based on some measurements against the schematic. I don't know how to overall test it since I don't have a turntable. It looks like V1 and V2 are the preamp? Some of the resistors are a different value from the sch.

pin resistance values:
V1 (12AX7)
Theor. actual
pin 2 6..8M (340k)
pin 3 0 (0)
pin 7 5.7k (59k)
pin 8 3.3k (3.3k)

V2 (12AX7)
pin 2 6.8M (358k)
pin 3 0 (0)
pin 7 5.7k (59k)
pin 8 3.3k (3.3k)

V3 (12AX7)
pin 2 700k (900k)
pin 3 1.8k (1.8k)
pin 7 700k (750k)
pin 8 1.8k (1.8k)

V4 (12AX7)
pin 3 300 (300)
pin 8 300 (300)

V5 (12AU7)
p2 1M (1M)
p3 23k (23k)
p7 1M (1M)
p8 23k (23k)

Here are the voltages greater than 10% off:
V1
p1 140v (103v)
p6 80v (126v)
p8 .75v (.97v)

V2
p1 140v (265v)
p6 80v (111v)
p8 .75v (0v)