New member from Worcestershire

Hi, I'm joining because a lot of the posts look interesting and there are threads ones I could contribute to, now I am retired and have a bit of spare time.

I have been fiddling about with hifi for over 45 years, starting with a Sinclair Project 5000 amp that was pre-assembled but needed a degree of adjustment to keep the 5 pin DIN input plugs working, not to mention the plastic slider potentiometers. As I am a mechanical engineer, I have some appreciation of analogue electronic components as in my youth they were used in control systems and instrumentation – for example, I could calculate the LaPlace time domain transfer function of a simple circuit which really helped understand loudspeaker crossovers and what capacitors and inductors did to frequency response.

After the Sinclair, the next diy item was a Crimson Electrik kit amp, two CE1704 power amps driven by a CPS 6 power supply with a hefty toroidal transformer. This was complemented by a CE CPR 1 pre-amplifier kit. Over time the pre-amp was replaced by a NAD3070 with remote control, until that had protection circuit issues which were beyond my abilities. I now have an Audiolab 6000 pre/power amp, still with the Crimson Elecktrik CE1704 providing power for the bass inputs of a pair of Mission 773 speakers. The Audio lab 6000A not only provides power, but also the DAC for a NAD C541i CD player, now only a transport as the internal DAC shows its age in comparison to the Audiolab.

I have also inherited and refurbished various bits of kit such as a pair of 1990’s TDL Near Field Monitors – new Peerless bass/mid drivers and tweeters (the original rectangular faceplate ones are no longer available) and revised crossovers because the new drive units are 6- and 4-ohm nominal impedance, not the original 8 ohm.