New LM3886

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
put back all the components that National define as "optional", they are not optional to any but the most advanced of chipamp designers/builders.

Join con2.1, C1, R1, R5 to each other. This becomes Signal Return.

Those "optional" components degrade the sound, so it's no go for those components. R5 stays where it is, it more one the output path than signal. AndrewT I don't understand what are you trying to tell me with the last post. I've come up with really nice sounding amp with no DC offset problems (one channel 30mV the other one 42mV), maybe some different component values still can be used, but I definately won't be using the ones that are most commonly used or the ones that are recommended by National. AndrewT what kind of experiances do you have with LM3886?

Regards Aleš

p.s. When I said I'm still learning about this I meant learning about amplifiers and their functions, not about building one.

Those "optional" components degrade the sound, so it's no go for those components.

At the very least include the decoupling caps on the power supply. The chip should be decoupled by an electrolytic cap (10uF and up - like the C4, C6 you have) where the power enters the board and a 100 nF~1uF polypropylene close to the chip. Some people add a good ceramic cap (100pF~1nF) in parallel with the polypro as well.

These decoupling caps are used to lower the supply impedance and are used to prevent the amplifier from becoming unstable (i.e. oscillate). They are not optional components.

If you use AC coupling on the input (like you have in your latest schematic), the sound quality is likely to be dominated by the input cap. Use a good polypropylene cap here.
If you DC couple the input (as in your original schematic and in National's data sheet), you need to AC couple R5 in your schematic.
A third option is to use a DC servo.

~Tom