Need advice on what speaker to build

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
yes, i'm refering to the spiral corn. the thread has plans for different drivers, same plan really just diffferent sizes. there's something soooo right about this setup. it goes together quickly with the glue gun and you don't have to go 8". i'm just hoping someone does.

If OP really wants to stay with a single FR unit and can raise the budget for the drivers to $110/unit, then he can also consider the FH-XL; very similar layout to that of the FH Mk3, but bigger and will go louder and deeper.

I have to admit I was drooling over the 10s. This is indeed an interesting option. But I couldn't find a link for the FH-XL. Any pointers?

@drmcclainphd: Thanks for this information - it was great to read about this, and I'm just getting started. I have to say I got a crick in my neck from the sideways brochure, though.

Having been to both Old Yankees Stadium and the Radio City Music Hall, I'll definitely try to find out more about the subject.

Also, I really like your approach of experimentation and refinement, and the dissociation of the quality of something from its cost!

frugal-phile™
Joined 2001
Paid Member
Do the Mk3 or the FH-XL need to be placed close to a back wall or corner for good effect? One convenient configuration for my room would be to place them about 5-6 feet away from the back wall.

The back wall/corner finishes the horn so close proximity is optimal (least bass ripple). With less damping you can pull them farther out. Back of speaker to wall of about 3' is about as far as i've tried.

dave

Founder of XSA-Labs
Joined 2012
Paid Member
A Cornu wall mounted speaker 28 in x 4in deep with a Faital Pro 4FE32 can sound very nice with rich bass. It won't be "HiFi" though.

Are you looking for bookshelf, standmounts, floor standing, or is a wall mounted speaker even an option?