Nad 7240pe damaged amp section

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Thx for all info

Hi All

Just stumbled on this post and wanted to say thx to all the advices in there.
I am a beginner as well and just starting on a 3240 (same but "amp only, not receiver") which blows its fuses (F501 502) at startup.
So far I have pinpointed 423 and 431 as being shorted, but even with them (and 435) renoved, it is still blowing :(

Following docs from here and hifiEngine for both the 3240 and the 7240, I realised that there are apparently 2 "makes" of them by NAD, one (the oldest?) using SB826 SB649A, the other (more recent?) using BD912 BD680.

Otehrwise, if anybody ends up like HVfanatic here for the bias adjustment procedure, the docs in hifiengine give the whoel process in details, and the recommended value is 30mV...

ONE question is anybody here is willing to help:
what are the P.T.C.1 and P.T.C.2 in the schematic (on the rails). I can;t find them in the nomencalture, not identify htem on the board. Are they these "wire links" to the main switch? Why have they a resistor symbol with a A value?

I'll keep you guys posted.

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
Without seeing the circuit my guess would be either thermistors PTC = positive temperature coefficient which is standard labelling.

Wire links across low value resistors are seen in some amps, the idea is you snip the link to measure the volt drop across the low value resistor and hence calculate the current.

Post a screen snip of the circuit :)

Edit I can see them in the diagram in post #1. They are drawn as thermistors but I suspect they are either "polyswitches" (which are like a bit a thermistor) which have a low resistance until a set current is exceeded and then they "flip" to a high resistance. Used as resettable fuse. Or they could be thermal fuses that go open circuit at a specific temperature. These are non resettable.