Mysterious Impulse Measurement Problem

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, I'm just getting started with speaker measurements and I am getting this glitch in impulse measurements that is driving me crazy. If anyone can help me locate the source of the problem, I would really really appreciate it. Here are the details, and an image. I would be more than happy to post images of the results of any suggestions. Thanks.

Basic Setup is:

• Dayton EMM-6 mic with calibration file
  • Lexicon Lambda USB interface/soundcard/preamp
  • mediocre PC laptop with ARTA and HOLMimpulse
  • single woofer(s), in boxes or on baffles, no crossovers or other components

Problem is this little dip at the start of the impulse:
(please ignore the short reflection time - this is just an example of the dip)
attachment.php

Things I have tried with no change to the dip:

• three totally different drivers
  • two amps
  • all sorts of different signal and measurement types/settings
  • reversing electrical and digital phase (dip still goes down relative to pulse)
  • different in/out channel combinations (although I've only got two channels)
  • wide variety of measurement distances and angles (did notice the dip becomes a little jagged far off-axis, but remains present)
  • suspected input pass-through on the Lexicon might be to blame, since it does not seem to be switched off - only resistively blocked with a pot. I believe I've located it's influence by adjusting levels, and it appears around 1ms before the real impulse and hardly above the electrical noise floor.

Any ideas?

Attachments

• impulse_weird1.PNG
    impulse_weird1.PNG
    25.4 KB · Views: 256
Hard to diagnose exactly but there are a few possibilities:
Might be the actual starting shape of the impulse response of the unit.
Might be a little electrical bleed through between measuring system output and input.