MiniMax DAC - best opamps to replace stock ones?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
This is my first thread in this forum! :)

I would like to know the best opamps for the following applications:

1 - I/V conversion stage. The stock opamps are 2 x NE5532. After this opamps, there're 2 outputs stages, one based on a single tube (12AU7) and other SS with the opamp NE5534

2 - For ss output satage. The stock unit is a NE5534 (also 2 units).

Although I used to work as electronic technician in the past, I am a newbie in audio modifications. I found some dual mono AD825, AD827 and also OPA627 and would like to know if I can simply take off the stock units opamps and then stick the new opamps in?

I'll appreciate any help!

Joined 2000
Paid Member
May I suggest the following. They sounded better than the OPA2134 in my active crossover. Also replaced NE5532 in a phono pre.

LM4562 - Dual High Performance, High Fidelity Audio Operational Amplifier

LM4562 dual opAmp
LME49880 dual opamp
LME49710 single OpAmp

Price is reasonable and the improvement was very obvious.

If you are able, you should build your own discrete opamps.
See Pass Diy for a PDF on DIY Opamps in the Projects sections.
No monolithic opamp will top a discrete opamp. Very good quality and low parts count.

Vince

1 - I/V conversion stage.

This needs wide bandwidth as standard. LM6172 works well, OPA2890 might be worth a punt for where low supply current is a requirement. The 2890 is low supply voltage though (12V).

2 - For ss output satage. The stock unit is a NE5534 (also 2 units).

Something with fairly beefy output drive. Could try LM6171. NE5534 isn't so bad in this position as in I/V.

Mooly, nice thread!