Midrange Driver QTC in 3-way system: Important?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm an educated newbie (dangerous and annoying, I know), so thank you in advance for your patience.

I'm building a 3-way system. Using BassBox 6 Pro and X-over Pro, I designed the towers with a QTC of .707 based on the bass driver. If I just mount the mid on the same baffle as the bass driver, the mid driver has a very low QTC due to the volume of the bass section of the tower. Should I mount it in its own enclosure within the tower to get a QTC of .707?
In this situation, is the QTC of the mid driver important?

I am sure I am missing some theory here, so please speak up and give me the skinny! I'm a polite and fast learner!

You absolutely need to give the mid its own enclosure, simply so it won't be pushed around by the woofer.

As to what Q to give it, that is harder to say. In the end you will be adding crossover to it and shooting for some kind of acoustical rolloff that is the combination of the mids rolloff and the crossover highpass. No need to shoot for .707 and probably best to keep the resonance somewhat low to keep it away from the crossover point.

Regards,
David S.

I should have added that this has only become an issue during xover modeling. The mid enclosure is part of the xover calculations. The xover point on the low end of the mid is 300hz.

A .04 cu.ft. enclosure for the mid driver gives a QTS of .707. A .5 cu.ft. enclosure (much easier to build with my cabinet design) gives a QTS of approximately .45. Is this a meaningful figure in my situation? What issues might I run into?

Thanks again!

diyAudio Member
Joined 2007
If your midrange driver isn't acting pistonically the size (volume) really isn't a problem.