may have jumped in at the deep in here...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
so, ive just come back from a festival here in the uk and it was amazing apart from the lack of music at the camp site.
so i took it into my own hands to build a boom box. ive been looking around here, especially the boominator thread (very helpful) to get ideas and last night just went for it and bought some component speakers, an amp and 2 batterys.
ill put the links at the bottom.
when they arrive all i will be doing is then constructing the box. but i have a few questions i neeed to clear up first:

- will all that gear i have bought work togeather and
- will it even sound any good
- how long will the batterys last
- shound the box have ports or not
- do i need to put any dividers in the box between the speakers or tweeters.

as you can tell im pretty much a complete noob! :/

any help at all would be wonderful

thanks a bunch, matt

lepai amp

jbl component speakers

batterys x2

I'm a tinkerer so I've come up with concoctions like this in my past.
That being said:

1. As far as I can tell all components should work together.
2. It will probably sound OK. Box size, rigidity and damping will all help it sound better.
3. I don't know electrical math but someone here should be abble to give an estimate, for each one and for two in series.
4. Those woofers probably have a high-ish Qts so sealed is probably the best option. As DBT mentioned, they're designed more for free air (car doors and rear decks with lots of space behind). I'd start with 1cuft at a minimum per woofer.
5. Divide the woofers, 1 cuft (28l) per woofer. The tweeters appear to be sealed. If so you don't need a seperate space for them, so being in the same enclosure as the woofer should be fine. And I'd keep them as close to the woofers as you can when mounting.

R/