Mark Levinson ML-9 recapping (1985)

Hello to all.

I've decided to recap my old ML-9 amplifier, which, I think, deserve it ;)

At the moment, I'm looking for 1) finding as much and well the same references than the original ones (which is a fancy yet uneasy job ;) 2) finding the right way (procedure) to replace the capacitors on the amplifier board (which seems uneasy too, considering the way it is built, as I'll explain).

I’m not a professional but I’ve got plenty of time, I already recapped several small amplifiers (like some Cyrus 1 and 2 and other electronic devices), and I’m equipped with all the necessary tools. But if it appears that it is impossible for someone like me to achieve the task, I’ll try to find a qualified professional to have the job done…

Then.

1. finding the same references than the original ones. Easy for certain items. Difficult or impossible for some others. Possible with a few references if you buy 10 or 300 of them (depending on the item). For instance, I’ve chosen to replace the original Sprague 36DX 36000uF/100V by new United Chemi E36D101HPN363UEM9N bought from M…r (same voltage/capacity/size) which, I believe, are widely used by Madrigal to recap old ML amplifiers. Those capacitors are not on the signal path and should do the job. Selecting Cornell or Vishay (Sprague) of the same type would have demanded that I take at least 9 of them, which is rather expensive.

I couldn’t find the 10/100V same polycarbonate caps (and as film caps I suspect they are not too bad even after 35 years of use), but I bought East German RFT NOS 10/100 polycarbonate caps, in case (they seem OK, cap 15uF and Vloss 2,5% - acceptable?). I could find NOS Sprague 39D series 520/100V caps, and I’ll check the Vloss and ESR when I got them. Hoping they are OK or that I could reform them if necessary. I could find NOS 10000/10 Frako (same question than previous). I could find new TE1105 250/6V at M…r.