• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Marantz 7 preamp inspired clone issues

Hi,

I am building a Chinese kit for a friend, I have no experience with tubes or audio so this is quite challenging to debug.
This is almost the same kit that my friend got

https://www.fyfaudio.com/products/h...amplifier-marantz-m7-circuit?VariantsId=10237

The wiring diagram is not very clear but I managed to understand the connections, it doesn't work, the output volume is very low.

1713321801564.png

I measured all the voltages (top caps and pin 1,6, 3 and 8 of tubes) and are within a 10% range of the values of the schematic above, what would you think is wrong?
it seems that is rated 30W, I am using a 6ohm 10W speakers, audio is very low, doesn't sound distorted to me
Thanks

So you're aware this circuit isnt intended to drive speakers directly? The output from the far right 12AX7 is supposed to go to a power amplifier, then from that device to the speaker. The 30W rating is the power it takes to operate, not the power it can provide into a speaker load. Hope this helps!

Reactions: 1 user
Oh boy,

Thanks jjasniew
I heard the story of a Chinese fellow visiting guitar amplifier forums. It was clear he had some learning to do at the time. Today, he has his own line of amplifiers in production, all - apparently - based off what he learned participating on line. I predict you'll be there soon.