Madisound BK-20

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am going to build some speaker using Fostex FE206eN drivers.

I noticed that Madisound sell a flat pack BK-20. I can't find any reviews of them. Has anyone heard them, and what do you think.

I am also considering building a pair of Sachiko's. My only concern with the Sachiko's is that I my room is on the smaller side and they would have to be placed near the wall. I understand they work best in a larger room away from the wall a bit. My listening distance is about 9 ft.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks
Debra

Hi Debra, well since -any- thoughts are appreciated, I'll hazard an opinion even though I'm a newb.

For what this is worth, the BK-20 looks to be a somewhat antique design to my eyes. By comparison, the Sachiko was computer-modeled to get (among other things) deeper bass. I would vote for the design with more engineering behind it, room size aside.

frugal-phile™
Joined 2001
Paid Member
Deb,

Your room is indeed a bit tight for Sachiko. Have you looked at the RonHorn Dallas II? Plans are a bit sketchy due to the originals being eaten by Windows. It has always been my intention to redraw them thou.

As RJ says, BK20 is a bit of an antique and didn't take advantage of modern tools. It was designed for the FE206 that predated the FE206e (the driver that FE206En just replaced). 206e & 206En are quite similar, but few here have experience with earlier 206.

It works but will not squeeze as much performance out as more modern designs that take advantage of the advances in modeling horns.

dave

frugal-phile™
Joined 2001
Paid Member