Jitterless pc audio

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
There have been many discussions on the quest to acheive high end audio through the PC employing an array of techiniques and design. I am not an electronics expert but I do know quality audio when I hear it.

I just purchased the Pionner VSX-55TXi receiver and DV59-AVi multi-format disc player and found the ilink audio technology included with these products to be outstanding.

Question: Has anyone seen or heard of a way to send audio from a PC to an ilink or firewire equipped receiver through the firewire port of the PC?

It seems fairly clear from many of the other posts that there are 2 fundamental problems with PC audio.
1. DAC by the sound card whether using analog or digital out. If you have spent time and money on a custom or commercial DAC then why have your sound card involved at all?

2. Jitter. Without getting into the details of jitter ( of which I know little about), I think it would be safe to say that if the 1's and 0's of digital audio are not being delivered on the right clock then you are probably going to have some sound degredation.

Avoiding these 2 problems will enable PC audio to do what it does best. Managing large volumes of WAV files ( can we please stop the charade of pretending MP3's or any other compressed format "sounds just as good").

Pioneer, Denon, and Yamaha I believe are the only companies currently offering ilink/firewire audio. Due to copyright issues all three companies are very ambiguous about using the PC with their products.

Using the firewire port of your PC to pass pure jitterless digital audio to an external DAC seems to be the answer that many people are looking for and posting about.