Identication help please

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
As a complete novice I feel a little embarrassed joining here and asking for assistance but here goes..

Identification required please.

I’m in the process of attempting to renovating a pair of Griffin speakers I bought in 1980.
They have been stored for over 25 years.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

As a trial I connected them to my equally aged Sugden Stemfoort amp. The result was ‘over bright’ in fact ‘extremely sharp’ when I removed the bass speaker I noticed that a Capacitor on the three way crossover had become detached from its circuit. On removal Maplin’s and R.S. were unable to identify this faulty component for replacement.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

I have now ‘cut’ the crossovers out of their cabinets for closer further examination and found three other similar capacitors which have become separated from their circuits.
I enclose photos of the parts which I’d like to replace. I do not have a circuit diagram to aid identification and guess that the speakers may be: twin ported Aperiodic 27’s

Any help and guidance will be most appreciated, my electronic expertise is limited to the basic level of being able to solder. I understand that even if I’m able to replace what I believe is to be the problem that other factors may surface; but the fact that I was able to get some sound from them indicates that the speaker unit may be serviceable and can then be passed down the ‘food chain’ to my grandson along with my Sugden amp and Aura CD deck.

If all else fails, instead of repairing, is there an alternative replacement and affordable crossover I could obtain before biting the bullet taking them on a tear-stained journey to the tip?

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
Welcome to diyAudio :)