I need your help -- planning a infrasound capable subwoofer

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello

I'm planning on building an infra-bass subwoofer based on these instructions (Build an Infrasonic Subwoofer) but I have doubts as to the effectiveness of their design... I was wondering if you could help me out, I'm new to the world of acoustics and speaker-building.

The main problem is this: their choice of subwoofer - the 21" PylePro - has a frequency response of 22hz to 4khz (according to their website).

As I understand it these numbers delineate the range of frequencies the driver is capable of producing. Am I wrong? ... Could I still generate 18hz at a significant amplitude enough for people to really feel it in their bodies with this speaker despite these specifications?

My plan, based on these instructions, is to house a 21in Pyle in a large (1.2 x 1.1 x 0.3m ish) enclosure and use a 1000 watt amp. My budget is around £500 - £600. Does this sound feasible?

If you have any advice at all, or can point me in the right direction I would be very grateful!

Hi,

They are pretty clueless in every respect in what they are trying to achieve.

You are no real help in defining what you realistically want to achieve.
a 2x 15" is the same as a 21" and generally more driver choice.
a 2x 18" might be better in a PA context than domestic.

rgds, sreten.

Ya, that Pyle sub isn't going to do it. You need a lot of displacement to do what you want, depending on the SPL you want.

I have 6 x 12" subs and my room starts to give gain below about 25hz. I can get output down below 10hz no problem, but my output is maxed out around 100db at the LP. Maybe a little more if I had more power. Without the room help, I'd be even lower.

So, what is your SPL and low frequency target?

That instructable is loaded with mistakes. Ignore it.

Hi,

Not really, its pretty hard to mess up a sealed box.