how do i wire up and what amp do i use?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
hello im a novice to sound systems and I am building my first. ive got a lot of it sorted but stuck with some speakers im building.

im going to be using four 8ohms drivers that run at 50watt rms each. with each driver will be a "Piezo Horn Tweeter" 60 to 80 ohms 150watt max.

now I don't no how to wire these up or what size amp to use, I was thinking of using a 500watt 4ohm 2 channel amp will wireing all these speakers up to 2 channels cause the ohms to get to high for the amp? do I need to use a passive crossover with each speaker? I will be using a active crossover anyway but like I said im a novice.

any help would be great :)

Thanks

Gibby

So the total max power of the tweeters is 600watts dose this mean The rms is 300watts? The rms of all the drivers is 200watts so if I have a 500watt 2 channel amp would i Run two drivers and two tweeters in pararell to each channel? Do the tweeter need a passive crossover before they go to the amp? How will the ohms be affected by all this? And can someone please make me a sandwich?

Please explain every detail because I'm new to all this and it can easily go over my head.

Thanks

Gibby

You need to specify what power is being fed to which channel.

An amplifier is "usually" specified with Watts/Channel. However, car audio manufacturers often bend the rules to make their equipment look more powerful than it actually is.

You cannot just add the power of all the speakers together and feed them with that amount of power.

Although not strictly true (because different drivers have different sensitivities), each driver (ie bass and tweeter) will be fed with the same power, just at different frequencies.

So if you have 50W Bass drivers, two in series or parallel will be able to take 100W MAX.

So the Tweeter will also be fed with the same 100W.