Help deciphering speaker specs

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello All, I'm new to DIY audio. My first project is a portable music player / boombox. It will be used for listening to moderate volume music for myself and for small get-togethers and on trips with friends. It is based on a Raspberry Pi 3 with a SainSmart SX400 DAC HAT. The DAC includes an amplifier that will power 2 channels at 20 watts (4 ohms recommended). (SainSmart SX400 Expansion Board for Raspberry PI B+ 3D Printing, Arduino, Robotics | Sainsmart) I should also point out that I'm not a huge audiophile. I spent too many hours around really loud garage bands to have that refined an ear (left). But I do want my project to sound better than most portable speakers you can buy for less than $200.

With that in mind, I am trying to sort out what speakers to buy/use in the project, but I find myself swamped in specs that I'm not sure I understand.

First: efficiency. I understand that the more efficient a speaker is, the less power is needed to drive it to achieve the same volume. So I've eliminated speakers that are less than 92 dBm efficient. Is that going to far? Or should I go farther, considering I've only got a 20 watt amp?

Also, is it true that if I go with a two-way system, I should match the efficiency between the full-range/mids and the tweeters? How close do they need to be - one or two dBm of efficiency?