Help An Absolute Beginner With A Unique Project?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm sure there's more to making a decent-sounding speaker, than just a good box...and slapping random drivers into it.
: :eek:

Seemed to work for me in my younger days lol.
In 1980 I just bought 4 Fane 50WRMS 50Hz-4KHz drivers from Maplin and put them in 2 cabinets. Got used with a mobile disco and for guitar for years.

These days I am a little more careful about what I buy.
My latest pair of cabinets have Fane Sovereign 12-200LT in one and 12-250TC in the other. These are more full range than the Maplin offerings.
They sound very good.

Last edited:
Actually, metal tweeters are quite tolerable if you fit a Zobel around 7.5R and 0.68uF. But then, most tweeters benefit from a Zobel. I did think your PMC FACT.3 speakers had metal as standard, but on closer inspection they ARE soft dome. So maybe 22TFF is true to the original. :)

Anyway, this is looking good:

P1010169_zpsb0d82fc0.jpg

Sreten seems a bit short on detail with his 2.5 idea. I think I prefer my MTM/TMM design in practise. Of course, any good speaker is about 6 months work to get right. Endless fiddling involved. :D

I've saved the image to the forum, since photobucket and imageshack last about 5 minutes usually. :mad:

Attachments

• PMC FACT.3 Cabinets.JPG
    PMC FACT.3 Cabinets.JPG
    37.4 KB · Views: 147
OK gents; well...hasn't been much to report for a while. And for a while there...I wasn't sure, this thread wouldn't just fade-away and die.

It turns out...the build, really bogged-down; with the freakin' trim-rings! Couldn't find them, as constituted...ANYWHERE! And I've gotten 2 quotes to fabricate them...and both were more than I was hoping to spend.