Hello and some Questions.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Firstly I'm new here, so Hi. Secondly, I'm very new to Diy HiFi and electronics in general. However, I can follow instructions and How To's so whilst I might not understand why a circuit and component is used, I can follow an online build/instruction about what part goes where.

Anyway, a few weeks ago I stumbled across the chipamp design and started to realise that here is a good first build of a DIY amp that is both simple and cheap (compared to buying commercial). And from all accounts it sounds considerably better than a lot of commercial amps. Will it really take on and match amps costing £1000's?

Now for some more serious questions: Heat and getting rid of it. I understand the concept of heat sinks, but have no idea as to how big a heatsink to use for th Gainclone, nor how hot it will run. I've read a lot about it under normal loads it's not too bad, but what is "normal load" and what is "not too bad"?

I've also seen a lot of people use the metal casing as an extra conduit for the heat, but I'm not a fan of the normal casings you can get - unless you get something purpose built out of billet aluminium (very costly), the metal enclosures are ugly.