Hafler XL280 mods gain/low frequency cutoff problem

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Voltages

Ok guys, I got something for you to chew on...

Popped the top and plugged her in. Here's what I have so far:
AC in 122.5
B+/B- = 62.5 (ref 65)
B++/B-- = 72.0 (ref 75)
voltages are stable
DC at inputs 1 and 2 = 0.0 (ref 0)

BAD Side:
Base voltage at Q7/Q8 is -15.53 (ref -15)
B voltage at Q5/Q6 is 15.49 (ref 15)
voltages are stable
GOOD side:
-15.06 at Q7/Q8

That's all I got for now, gotta go to work -
Please reply if you think this 1/2 volt discrepency is anything to worry about...

I am more or less a beginner here... But, i own three Haflers. Two P230's and a P125. I have done some troubleshooting, and repairing on these amps.

Have you checked the dc offset on the bad channel?

If the bias is jumping around on the bad channel, check the voltages around the transistor near the bias pot. Its Q9 for my Haflers, but the XL280 appears to be differant in areas.

Also, the main check for diodes is to see if they are short circuit. If you read low, or no reistance on a diode replace it.

Good luck!

Diodes

When I had everything apart I replaced all 4 1N4003's in the power supply with brand new, throughput matched glass passivated diodes.

I replaced the 2 1N4003's at the bottom of the 'bad' side (D5 and D6) and I checked the 1N4148's and the 1N5245B 15V zeners for shorts when I had all the caps out and had open circuits all over the place.
No problems were found, but I did not remove and check the diodes (except the 1N4003's) nor did I replace them.