Giving Old JBL Drivers New Life - Need Enclosure Design Help

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have been reading 'till my eyes bleed on speaker forums trying to figure out what to do with my old JBL D123 075 combo. Now this forum seems like the place I need to be to ask this question!

I have been carting around these old JBL drivers for several years. They came in enclosures that were too small with crossovers that weren't really right and surprise-surprise, I never liked the sound! The drivers are in decent shape. Just a little dusty. The enclosures I have would need a serious rehab if I were to use them, but I think a better bet is to build new ones. I have already built a copy of a JBL N2400 crossover network to re-try the old speakers in their old enclosures. The drivers sound clean, but they are really lacking any low end in their 2-ish cu-ft, leaky enclosures.

So my question is - what kind of enclosure should I build to bring these old drivers to life? I could go full retro and build something to the period. Those tend to be fairly large and low to the ground. That wouldn't be ideal for my small house. I stumbled into MLTL designs, but I'm not sure they are going to save me any floor space. Should i just build a tall box for the volume and hope for some MLTL effects as a bonus?