Full wave vs full wave bridge rectifier

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm still confused (I'm an electrical engineer, I'm not supposed to be confused, but I am).

If I take a 17V dual winding output transformer, and want to make a dual rail supply, there are two options open to me:

1) Connect the windings in series to make a centre tap, then use a single bridge (4 diodes) to make + and - rails in the usual way, with the CT being 0V.

2) Connect each winding to its own bridge (8 diodes total), one feeding the + rail, and the other the -.

I've read on here in the past that 2 is better than 1 for transformer utilisation.

I had worked out that this only happens if one rail is loaded more than the other (eg low frequency bass kick, or whatever usually generates high currents in an amp) because both half cycles of the winding are then used. (With option 1, each winding only supplies a half cycle, increasing I2R losses.)

But I just realised this is wrong. If only one rail is loaded in option 1, then only one winding will deliver any current at all = same I2R losses. If there was any long term chance of imbalance (not in an audio amplifier) then option 2 is actually worse because one winding will get hotter.

And of course there are extra diode losses in 2 (although they can be half the voltage rating). There is the possibility of more switching events in 2 as well, but as the diodes are in series this is only down to second order things like different reverse recovery times of the diodes etc. Blah de blah.

Therefore I'm (also) left thinking they're electrically identical apart from the diode drops, including transformer and everything. Can anyone shed any more light on this or provide real-world experience, including sonic differences? Of course if your transformer is hardwired with a centre tap you're stuck with option 1 anyway.

Thanks - Antony.