Frugal-phile(tm)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
In the frugalphile spirit, I'd like advice on an amplifier for my sister to build. (Yes, she (a woman!) is interested--how can we nurture this?!)

However, she brings no experience and little money to the table. Low total component cost and simplicity must be foremost. A kit would be OK, if cheap enough--say up to $100. I will help her, but since I am no electronics expert, the amplifier should be supported by a thorough how-to writup, if not a kit.

Power should be 40+ watts/ch. with as much audiophile mojo as budget allows.

Any suggestions?

Bill

frugal-phile™
Joined 2001
Paid Member
Bill F. said:
Low total component cost and simplicity must be foremost. A kit would be OK, if cheap enough--say up to $100.

Power should be 40+ watts/ch. with as much audiophile mojo as budget allows.

Only 25W per but in it beats the heart of a gainclone.

and cheap -- $12 CAD / ~$8 USD per board

Add a trafo & rectification/smoothing (they have a kit for the latter as well, but bridge & caps are a pretty simple p-to-p job.)

Should be well within the budget -- how much depends on how well you make out with the trafo and what kind of case & heatsinks you find/salvage (ApexJr has 120AV 18-0-18 toroids for $15 USD -- you could get away with one, but 2 gives a big push towards audio-philedom).

dave

How 'bout a gainclone based on either LM3875 or LM1875