Frugal-Horns Sachiko 8" horn speaker - Nasty dips in frequency response

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,
I am fairly new to high sensitivity horn style speakers, esp these rear loaded horn types. I have been building tube gear for some time now but generally the higher powered PP types of amps. I have recently taken an interest in the DHT / SET low powered designs and am in the process of sourcing parts for a build of the Wilson MK1 300B. I know that this new direction is going to require some different speakers with higher sens. than my current Proac 2.5s and Polk M10 speakers. Because of this I am also planning on building a speaker based on the Fostex 206 series driver. I have been hunting for the "perfect" DIY enclosure but have some serious concerns about the frequency response dips I see inherent in the rear loaded horn designs. The Frugal-Horn website has a perfect case in point. The Sachico has wonderful reviews but I can honestly say that I am skeptical given the response graphs that are shown (Here: http://homepage.mac.com/tlinespeakers/FH/images/Sachico-modeled-FR.gif ).

These are some pretty nasty dips that I would find totally unacceptable in the modeling of any 2 or 3 way design I have built or would build. But the reviews.....what about the reviews? They all claim the wondrous sound of these designs.

Well, based on my concerns I am here for some more subjective (and possibly objective) reviews of these speakers....particularly these Sachico horns.