• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

First "boot" in 15 years

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
FWIW, I used to be an electrician in Australia where we have 240v mains.

Today I was changing some power outlets at home, had turned off all the power circuits in the house at the meter board and "assumed" (nuff said) that the power socket I was working on near our stove top would no longer be live.

Shoved an uninsulated screw driver into the screw terminal for the active wire and "zammo" got a boot in the right hand. (socket must take feed from the oven or a lighting circuit, don't know, I just killed the main switch and every other breaker in the place to make double sure)

I ought to know better!

Kids, no matter what your experience, CHECK with a meter before you touch anything at 100V or above.

Stupid, stupid, stupid, stupid, stupid!

A 4 year old should not have to grow up without a dad because he was dumb.

FWIW, I used to be an electrician in Australia where we have 240v mains.

Today I was changing some power outlets at home, had turned off all the power circuits in the house at the meter board and "assumed" (nuff said) that the power socket I was working on near our stove top would no longer be live.

Shoved an uninsulated screw driver into the screw terminal for the active wire and "zammo" got a boot in the right hand. (socket must take feed from the oven or a lighting circuit, don't know, I just killed the main switch and every other breaker in the place to make double sure)

I ought to know better!

Kids, no matter what your experience, CHECK with a meter before you touch anything at 100V or above.

Stupid, stupid, stupid, stupid, stupid!