FFT Analysis

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,
It's my first time being able to measure the THD+N% of my amps using the FFT analysis. One question, when I measure the THD the harmonics jump up very quickly around 12VRMS (across 8ohms). At first I thought it was from clipping, but when I look on the scope I can't see any until around 20VRMS. Is this normal? If so, what is causing this sudden increase? Thanks

I am using a LynxOne soundcard and Spectra Plus software. I am sending a 1KHz tone from the soundcard to the amp and back into the card (full duplex). The amp I am testing is an integrated amp. The input is 1VRMS and I adjust the output with the volume control on the amp. I have set the reference voltage on the card using a multimeter (approx. 4V). I am not sure what other specs you are looking for. Do I need to adjust the input level on the card?

SY
that's why I was advocating the use of 20k audio analyzer instead of $300 soundcards! ;)

Robphill,
Can you put some attenuators in your return line and stay below the dreaded 12V? You care about the distortion figure not the value of the voltage, right?
Or maybe it just simply that your amp sucks. What is it anyways?

Soundcard FFT