Fane Colossus Prime 18XS experience?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
View attachment 631751

4 THAM18 with the Fane Colossus driver (grey line) compared to one single ROAR12 with a B&C 12PS100. All drivers get 2,83 volt.

One ROAR18 will go almost 10 Hz lower then 4 THAM18.

View attachment 631756

Black line is a single ROAR18 and the gray line is a stack of 4 THAM18.

Cheers,
Johannes

Yeah ofc. But you have only used the roar12, and if the pros and cons written for the roar12. Then it looks like stacked tham18s reach same low :)

Lots of simulations and theory here, but I have some real world experience with 18XS and many others.
Fane says 18xs is recommended for scoops, well my experience has totally different story.
I tested 18xs in hog scoop and while it indeed was moving lots of air (more trouser flapping), there was just too much lack of punch and overall SPL. It also started to make flapping/farting sound quite easily when pushed to around 1kW of power, so it was losing control. It has too high Qts, low BL and too low EBP of 82 while recommended EBP for scoops/horns is >100.

Other tested drivers: RCF lf18x400, 18sound lw2400, RCF lf18g401, Fane 18SB (this one is actually pretty neat scoop driver!).
My favourite is X400 overall. Nice warm sound, good cone control and good amount of SPL.
So if you ask me, 18XS is very good reflex (or possiby bandpass) driver but not for typical horn loaded applications.

Hog scoop is a kind of tapped horn also, no idea how 18XS would behave in other horns like Tham18 etc.. I think Cubo18, having large chamber for weaker drivers, would be the only good "horn style" option for this one.

Last edited:
Hi Guys