• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Effects of high heater voltage?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
When I was trying to find out why a 6922 in a common cathode circuit was oscillating I also noticed that I had the heater voltage too high (6.5V instead of 6.3V), so I proceeded to adjust it to 6.3V (when fully heated) and added grid stoppers to try to fix my original problem. My question is, what are the consequences of a higher heater voltage, could that have been originally responsible for the oscillations? If it's possible (or maybe I'm way way off, I'm new to tubes) and that could have been the cause I'll take out the grid stoppers and pobe with my scope again (as it is, it's rock solid, but I'd like to be able to eliminate the grid stoppers), but if there's no way that was causing it, I won't waste me time. Again, thanks for all the input from you guys.

Most data sheets say +/-10%. 6.5V is only 3% high, and for all either of us know could well be meter error (..depends on the meter).

The only way heat could be related to oscillations is by heat varying the transconductance of the tube - and this is N/A because of the emission curve of oxide-coated type cathodes. Grid stoppers are a seperate deal, and the need depends on the circuit.

Tim

Ex-Moderator
Joined 2003
JoeBob said:
I also noticed that I had the heater voltage too high (6.5V instead of 6.3V), so I proceeded to adjust it to 6.3V...

Where did you measure? You'd be surprised by how much voltage can be dropped down a bit of twisted heater wire. It's vital to measure at the valve base.