Dual PAM8320 Mini Amp Build

As a lockdown project I'm building a mini amp based around two PAM8320 mono class D amps and a TDA7439 three-band digitally controlled preamp/input mux/processor, and I thought I'd share it here. I'm a relative newbie to electronics (also working on a 74-series logic version of the 6502 microprocessor) but have really been bitten by the DIY amp bug.

It's currently in prototype, mainly built on stripboard, and an Arduino (clone) used for the front-end and I2C interface for the TDA7439. I programmed all the code for the Arduino myself.

Sound wise, I'm quite impressed. I don't think it will set anyone's world on fire, but these little devices are inexpensive and don't require many supporting components. The TDA7439 is working beautifully with the rotary encoder/OLED front-end, and was a doddle to get working with the i2c interface. The PAMs are supposedly able to deliver 20W into 4 ohms. They've been driving my old (circa 1998) Monitor Audio Monitor 2 bookshelf speakers, which I think are 8 ohms, drawing just over 1 amp when going loud enough for my wife to bear!