Driver Selection With WinISD Data... PLEASE Help A Complete Newb!!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
@Tyett71... i believe Wilson's original approach is to have the Puppy's low passed at around 120 hz, so your opinion seems sound.

i've modeled LOTS of drivers in WinISD now - some 50+ - to get an idea of how they might work in this application. below is a short list of some options suggested by you all as well as others that seem to offer a good balance of Qtc, Extension, and Output. What is interesting is the frequency at which the Xmax is reached on some of these - notably the smaller drivers. Thank you guys for calling this important parameter to my attention, as it clearly eliminates some otherwise nice looking options from consideration.

The drivers are sorted by the expected Qtc at 22L, which made comparisons easier for me.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

@Tyett71... i believe Wilson's original approach is to have the Puppy's low passed at around 120 hz, so your opinion seems sound.

i've modeled LOTS of drivers in WinISD now - some 50+ - to get an idea of how they might work in this application. below is a short list of some options suggested by you all as well as others that seem to offer a good balance of Qtc, Extension, and Output. What is interesting is the frequency at which the Xmax is reached on some of these - notably the smaller drivers. Thank you guys for calling this important parameter to my attention, as it clearly eliminates some otherwise nice looking options from consideration.

The drivers are sorted by the expected Qtc at 22L, which made comparisons easier for me.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.
Something wrong with your image linking here...