Designing easy to use wire stator. with HPL and a CNC router.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi.

after some hard work i finally have my diy CNC router machine workinghttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3fzRZKVsHFw&feature. so time to design a esl panel mid/high with wires. wich i can make over and over if needed.

im pretty new to the wire stators so if you see anything that could be better pls let me know, after all thats why we are here.

The panel is gone be a , mid high panel. with 0.5mm2 wires. outside diameter is 2 mm.

membrane suface is 408~ cm2 (6 cm x 68 cm) , stator spacing to membrane is 1mm, not sure yet if a wire stator is up to the task of these tight tolerances yet. but we will see.

outside dimensions are 72 x 10 , mebrane width is 6 cm. i forgot the right formula to know when beaming starts at this width :( have to look it up again, and again.

i first had holes to put the wire through at each end but this was verry time consuming, to do a whole frame. so i decided to make this teeth, so i can wind the wire while i suspend the frame on 2 blocks and a clamb in the midle of the frame to create a bow shape. when all wires are wounded hand tight, i realease the clamb's and they should be nice and stretched agains the supports. (theory)

before i release it, i put epoxy resin on all supports and the small space between the teeth section and the first support.

bolt it to a table and wait till its dry.

some picture of the design, im still waiting on a 2mm cutter for the teeth, and HPL plate high presure laminate. its verry stiff and machines well. each stator will be 6 mm thick. when its bolted together its pretty stif. nice thing to is HPL isolates pretty well and cheap, not as cheap as wood but much much stronger.