Dark screen on a laptop

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Joined 2003
Paid Member
A laptop no light on the screen came in and I send it to the dealer to repair it.
They told me the back-light was broken. I agreed to have it repaired.
A few weeks later it returned with exactly the same problem.
So I called the dealer to ask him what happened.
He told me to return the PC and now they call me to tell me that the screen is probably broken which causes the back-light to fail over and over.
I have no experience with this kind of things so I would like to ask you guys if this story makes sense.

Thanks

/Hugo :)

Most likely it got damaged during shipping (when they sent it back) because they test it after the fix it right? If thats not the case, than maybe there is something overpowering the backlight, like a bad adapter (try it with battery if u havent already). Best solution is - take off the casing on the screen and everything else around it so its see through, and plop it on to an overhead projector and use ur laptop as a projector (it wont be very portable than.... hehe:D

Joined 2003
Paid Member
Thanks ancorp
What I wanted to know is if it is possible that a broken screen can damage the backlight.
As I said, I have absolutely no idea how these things work.
Is there some electrical connection between the screen and the backlight? Something like the screen taking too much current with a series connected backlight or so?
If this isn't the case, my dealer is just trying to get rid of his responsibility. That's what I want to find out.

/Hugo :)

when you paid for the laptop you where paying for the lcd
mostly. i would say he is taking you for a ride. he likely found out it was the bulb and not the power converter. the bulb is sealed in the lcd. you need to replace the lcd. to fix it:xeye:

:)

is it a sony? if so it's the power converter;)