Copy of YG Acoustics Anat 3

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I do high end audio for a living. a year or 2 back a client upgraded from YG Acoustics Anat 2's to Anat 3's. YG did not want the drivers or crossovers back so I inherited a set of 5 ( surround sound system ) of these. They have the single bass module..

So..

I carefully measured the interior and exterior dimensions, especially the midwoof boxes and driver spacing both up/down and depth.

I have recreated these in 3/4 MDF with a ton of screws and adhesive to make the box as solid as possible and of course acoustically inert.

SO all is well with the building so far. However I have a question. The YG Acoustics dont have any dampening material in the box behind the mid-woof. I found this rather crazy, but nope none. The Anat 3 upgrade tho did have some blocks of 1" or so material you put in there.

My question is, should I use some form of dampening material ? Ive got some 1/2" Sonic Barrier foam I could use. Im just concerned with all the mid energy in that box. I also dont really understand the choice to use NO dampening material.

I have the crossovers, which is where the magic is, and im thinking the crossovers might take into account the lack of dampening ?

I can always play later, but it would be easier to put the foam in now..

A current vid showing the project.. Ive been putting on the Sonic Barrier Lightweight Vinyl Sound Dampening sheets.. These are awesome in how they dampen the wood..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mNO7XChJ5iM

These are the mid-woofs http://www.scan-speak.dk/datasheet/pdf/15w-8531k00.pdf

Last edited:
Lucky I was indeed..