Class D - output LPF

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey all,

I am new to audio and am following a reference guide from IR for class D audio.

Attached is an image detailing my inquiry.

My two questions are:

1. Why bother with the inductive LPF at the output, if the speaker itself represents essentially an inductance and resistance in series?

2. Assuming 1. is debunked, what type of inductor should I choose? I usually notice people use large circular airgap inductors in such power applications.

Thanks in advance

Attachments

• lpf.jpg
    lpf.jpg
    77.9 KB · Views: 949
There are several class D chip amplifiers out there which are intended to operate directly into speakers, e.g. MAX9703/4.

The principal critical factors in the feasability of such designs are power, frequency, spread spectrum clock (if any), and lead length from amp to speaker. As already pointed out, you can create a load of EMI if you don't know what you're doing. In the worst case this is a criminal offence in most countries.

w

Fair enough, I realize the EMI could be an issue but I am more just thinking theoretically.

Furthermore, sizing your LR low pass requires some knowledge of the speaker, as it provides not only your R, but adds to your L. So the question becomes, how does one adequately set the parameters of the LR filter on the output stage? Do I require intricate knowledge of the speaker?

Also, once we reach the conclusion the output inductor is necessary as I'm certain is the case, what type is appropriate?

I know of current carrying capacity, but aren't there lots of different types of inductors just like there are capacitors. So air core etc.. Normally I see those big hoopy ones on high power output stages, is there anything special about them, or is it just the only option when looking into large currents flowing?