choosing wire gauges for LM3886 amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone:

Total newbie here.

Building a chipamp.com dual mono LM3886-based amp.
After having tested the PSU boards okay, it is now time for me to test wire the amp boards to the PSU boards.

1. I noticed in Peter Daniels' thread about building Gainclone-type amps, that he mentioned using something really thing (22-26 gauge) wires for signal to RCA. Does it matter whether you use thinner or slightly thicker wire for RCA to signal on amp boards? I have Cat3 wiring and Cat5 ethernet cabling I can use for this. Is thinner better? Doesn't thinner create more resistance?

2. Also, is it a bad idea to use thicker wire than the PCBs are designed for, as long as you cut some of the strands? Does this create any problens, other than possibly soldering mess? I've

3. Finally, is yellow a bad colour to use for RCA to signal pads? I'm already way overbudget and don't feel like going out to buy white or any other colour of new wire for signal connection. Also, they don't sell it anywhere nearby.

Thanks

For input signal wiring the thickness does not matter. Unbalanced connections are best done in coax; balanced using twisted pair.

If you can only connect some of the strands at each end, then you may in effect be only using the strands which happen to be connected at both ends. Better to use thinner wire and use all of it.

Use any colour you like; the audio signal doesn't care. Don't do all the wires in the same colour as you will find debugging very confusing! Invent a colour code and stick to it.

DF96:

Thank you, that was very helpful. You mean a n RCA input might be done using RG59 or RG6 coaxial? I'm curious, what is the advantage of coaxial?

You mean with shielding removed, right? Just the conductor, right?

OH, and what gauge are the Chipamp.com LM3886 boards designed to accept? Does anyone know?

Last edited: