CD723/753 tweaking!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi Audio tweakers,

gpapag and I (AF), want to start a new thread about tweaking the PHILIPS CD-723/753 CD-Player's.

I'll try to dig-up the schematic within a few days and hope that I'll be able to buy a scanner in this weekend so we all will know what we can do, and how we can do the modifications to this great and cheap CD-Player.

Best Regards,

Audiofanatic!;)

OK

I have some experience with CD721. Brand new it sounded like twice more expensive. After some tweaks - I don't know but... like a pretty expensive CD player.

My system:
CD721
JLH 10W SE Amp
Odin - SEAS Excel speakers
vdHul cabling - D102 Hybrid interconect and CS122 speaker cable.

After all I still think the weakest points in my system are the CD player and the amp (it should be a bit more powerful even though I don't listen to music as loud as it could deliver).

Wombat said:
Here are already some ideas of modding it, that may give you some ideas.
http://www.decdun.fsnet.co.uk/project.cd2.html#cddigiout

I have a 753 myself and only use it as transport.

this site is from DIY Audio member Nuuk So he might be able to give some more tips.

Btw I just bought one as well. €50,- almost new. So I am very interested in this thread suddenly:)

If somebody is going to perform the mods detailed in http://www.decdun.fsnet.co.uk/project.cd2.html
pls note that in the "Modifying the CD transport PCB" section there's a mistake and should be read "remove C2890 and R3897, then short R3896".
Otherwise you totally isolate the S/PDIF output of the Signal Processor IC.

Secondly, even if not mentioned in the "Modifying the audio output section", caps 2513 and 2514 (470 pF) in parallel with the outputs are to be removed if you add 820 pF + 470 uH to form an RLC filter.