Car Audio, DIY to a low cost dang fine system the relatively easy way! (other car stuff is welcome as well)

Long time DIY car audio interest from dirt cheap to insanely expensive, on and off for over 50 years into this. First install was in my mothers 58 Bonneville coupe when I was 16, I am going to be 72 in May. Motorola 8 track and Sparkomatic 6x9's, yeah baby! Back then very few cars had systems, next one was in a 63 Belaire we used to cruise in the big city of Spokane and might the the only one with a system on the main drag whenever we could get up there as we lived 50 miles away in a town of 800. We were the sheat back then:)

I am going to post up some things I learned over the years, most all from my car audio comp days, that can make it pretty easy to create a great sound stage in many vehicles, some are far easier than others, some pretty tough and I have little dirrect experience in that real though have coached quite a few "world champion" builds in most types of vehicles. And yes, there are those that know more than I do, some with a far longer history in competition, few have done what I did in a very short time, because I made a point to get to know some of the masters, worked with them on projects and paid attention.

I also sold a very high grade sound deadening product I owned and a secondary one I introduced to the car audio world as far as I ever learned that is, tens of thousands of happyt customers around the world. I will of course post my sound deadening recommendations followed by most all of them.

I know what I know and will not pretend I know more than I do, if anybody questions whatever I may post I will take it seriously and if agree will make it known and be glad to learn from them. I will also call out what I see as misinformed or pure BS.

Rick

Reactions: 1 users
Founder of XSA-Labs
Joined 2012
Paid Member