• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Can regulated B+ act like a CCS?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am pretty new to electronic design. Most of my experience has just been in troubleshooting and maintenance. I am trying to figure out the differences and benefits of CCS, CVS, and regulated B+, and have wound up with some questions that i could not get answered while searching.

Would a well regulated supply across a plate resistor not act like a CCS? I understand that as the resistor heats up, its resistance value changes, hence so does the current across it. But, wouldn't this eventually stabilize, or is the voltage swing across the grid force enough variation in current accross the plate resistor that it can not longer be considered constant?

How much difference in (audible) linearity would there be between a CCS and a well regulated B+?

Joined 2011
Would a well regulated supply across a plate resistor not act like a CCS?

Actually yes, if the value of the AC resistance to ground (the tube circuit's effective AC output resistance)
is much smaller than the plate resistor in value. Triodes work best (with the lowest distortion) in this way.
That is, with both a high supply voltage and a high plate resistor value.

Last edited:
I am working with a power supply regulated by a bootstrapped LM10 opamp controlling the bias of two FET devices ( which I guess is a quasi CCS in a way). This is straight out of the TI LM10 design book p.21.