Building a Guitar amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,

I am in the process of trying to build a guitar amp. I am currently going to school for EE, so I have a decent handle on electronics. Because of this, I was originally leaning towards a SS amp, but after reading more and more I think i finally convinced myself to go for a tube or at least hybrid amp. Since i am new to vacuum tubes, I have a few questions:

1. If I go for a hybrid design, what is more important: a tube preamp or a tube power amp? I have heard conflicting views on this but no real information to back it up. any ideas?

2. Are there any nuances to using tubes that I might not be aware of? ive read the geofex FAQ, but I want to make sure im not missing something.

3. does anyone have any fairly simple schematics for tube amps that have good tone? I'm not opposed to mixing and matching preamp and power amps from different places, and also plan on making some of my own alterations to the circuits (ie 10-band EQ and potentially other effects), I'm just looking for some good starting points.

I already have 2 12" 8ohm speakers... These to be exact:
Eminence Cannabis Rex 12" Guitar Speaker, 8 Ohm, 50 Watt#

I was planning on using these unless theres a good reason not to.

If you need any other info about my plans, please let me know. I am very excited to get this project underway!

Thanks,
Matt

You will get the information you need to build your first tube guitar amp by studying what others have done. A fantastic resource is Schematic Heaven

Schematic Heaven. Where All Good Amp & Effect Designs Await Resurrection...