Attempting to install and use CamillaDSP on Debian

I'm attempting to use CamillaDSP for the first time, as an active 3-way crossover and probably to smooth & flatten the frequency response. I shall also be using it on Linux, with which I'm a relative novice. My starting point is (current) Debian, set up as a virtual machine (KVM/QEMU) with USB pass-through to a Topping DM7 8-way DAC (this works fine, simply playing direct to the DAC). The source will be any application (browser, player etc) that is running on the PC.

There is lots of useful info on Henrik's github site. I also found a tutorial on audiosciencereview for setting up a raspberry pi, which I had a go at adapting, but that might be out of date as CamillaDSP objected to some terms in the example config files. But anyway, I gather the process would be to install any dependencies, set up a loopback as a source, and make a config file for Camilladsp to call.

My initial uncertainties are:
  1. If I use the pre-built executable (camilladsp-linux-amd64.tar.gz), which dependencies and prerequisites are needed?
  2. Henrik is doing great things developing a new version; if I'm to learn how to use CamillaDSP, would it be better to use this new version even though it is still in alpha release?
  3. The gitub config page involves setting things up as a systemd service, I've not seen this mentioned by many people using CamillaDSP; is it a necessary step?

Thanks!
Kev

Hi, before you go any further have you confirmed that you can get audio from software on the host to the VM? Or will you be running your browser etc from within the VM as well?

For your questions:
1. On latest Ubuntu and Fedora I don't think I needed to install anything extra to get the pre-built executable running with ALSA, Pulseaudio or Pipewire. The GUI does need extra dependencies installed. There's an install script listed in the main thread here recently.

2. Yeah just start with the new version