Artless idea for a 2way x-o

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Thanks for your reply.
I'm a noob i don't get any bit of you write.

1. I have no file named asound.conf and don't know what to enter and where to store.
2. aplay -Dplug:myalsadevice says
Code:
ALSA lib pcm.c:2266:(snd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM alsadevice
aplay: main:722: Fehler beim Öffnen des Gerätes: Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden
3. I don't know how.
I found some tutorials in the web.
They all start with 'pacmd list-sources' or list-sink.
But my pc says that pulseaudio is not running.

Sorry, I did not see your posts until now. It seems you would like to use some other software (your 'player' that you mention) to play audio files, stream audio, etc. and have that processed by ecasound as you do when you call ecasound and use a file (e.g. an mp3 file) as input. I will proceed with that assumption in place.

As Jerms mentioned, you need to install the ALSA loopback. This installs a new virtual sound card on your system called "Loopback". It is essentially a way to connect the output of one program to the input of another via ALSA. The Loopback card consists of 8 separate devices that are like "pipes", each pipe having two "ends". Each "pipe end" is a subdevice of the device in the card. So, let's begin.

To temporarily (until the next reboot) install the ALSA Loopback card, execute the following at the command prompt:
Code:
sudo modprobe snd-aloop
If there is an error message generated that snd-aloop cannot be found, let me know. Usually that is not the case. Next, run
Code:
aplay -l
You should now see a new card listed called 'Loopback'. Note the card number for it (in this case it will likely be the last one listed).