Arcam Delta 290 Fuse keeps blowing

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have an Arcam Delat 290 that has been working fine for many years. Recently I was careless when moving speakers and the red and black speaker cables touched while the AMP was switched on causing it to cut out.

Now I can't get the amp to power up - it just blows the fuse each time (the T1A6 surge protect fuse inside the amp).

Can anyone suggest what might be the cause of this and offer some suggestions for diagnosing or fixing the problem.

I am not an electronics expert - but would be happy to attempt diy repairs if necessary. I have a volt/amp/resistance meter..

Thanks in advance for any advice...

Sean Kenwrick

Sean,

Replace the blown fuse with another 1.6Amp anti-surge. Turn the volume down to minimum and switch both speaker outputs off. Then, with all inputs and outputs disconnected from the amp (i.e. input phonos and speaker output cables removed) power on.

If I remember correctly the power led starts off orange and then after a short while the output relays click and the led changes to green. At what point does the fuse blow ?

Jon

Sean,

I believe the amp has an IC that protects the output against overload, it is possible though that the output transistors or something else in the output stage has failed short circuit following your accident.