A Test Set for Nondestructive Safe-Area Measurements

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all

I don't know if it is necessary for a mercury relay, unless you want to really test very short pulses?

Most SOA curves follow "DC" or 1 S tests then increase in dissipation for 1 mS...

I think that a transistor timer stage should be enough for pulse durations to 10uS or less if high speed circuit design is used.

And since the curent source transistors might take 1 uS to turn on maybe SOA to 10 uS is enough.

From what I have heard about fakes it seems to me that DC or 1S testing will determine how good they are ... as long as the crowbar turns the TUT off when it fails ...

cheers
John

All sounds pretty good to me :smash: I have some experience in my day job testing FETs. I havent done every test on the data sheet but I've been able to accomplish every measurement asked of me so far. I use nothing fancy but a suitable selection of lab quality bench equipment and a few custom made circuits and fixtures.
I think the idea of setting up these tests first with minamul equipment, evaluate the results, determine what will be necessary with a compresive set of prototype circuits and set ups, before building it :D After some experience you will know better what you need.