• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

6l6 push pull output question(s)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi All,

I'm restoring a 1956 rockola Comet120.

You can find the amp schematics and more info here:

Amplifier | Rock-Ola 1438 Comet Fireball

I'm new to tube amps but I read a lot and I think I understand the basics.

Anyway, the amp is completely rebuild, replaced all tubes, resistors and caps.
I reconnected it but there are 3 problems:

1) The output power is lower than I remember is. At full volume the volume is 'ok' but not loud.
2) There is a distinct hum at 100 Hz (2xmains frequency here), independent on volume.
3) the music sounds slightly distorted

So I've been trying to figure out what is wrong.

The output stage (see schematic) consists of 3 6l6 tubes (common Cathode) in push pull mode. The center tap of the output transformer sits at the high voltage output of the rectifier.

I've measured the impedance of the ouput coil (pin 3 on the 6l6 to pin 8 on the 5u4) for both tubed, and the voltage across it when there is no input.

First of all the resistance on the coil is 144 ohm for tube 1 and 173 ohm for tube 2, I was surprised about this difference.
Voltage read 6.8 and 8.3 respectively.

this leads to anode currents of 47.2 and 47.9 mA in both tubes (surprisingly close considering the different loads..??)

The common cathode potential is 21.4 and the anodes are at 410 V

So the tube plate dissipation is about 18W.

Now, this is clearly above the limit for the 6l6 (12W max). So this can explain the distortion, and the hum? (50Hz being distorted to 100Hz??).

My questions are these: