1st speaker build - BIB with ____ FR speaker?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Oh man, I hate to disappoint but this is probably the second or third thing I've ever built with wood - I'm going more for sound quality than aesthetics here hahaha.

I'm excited to be at a stage where taking pictures is worthwhile though! My clamps are too short and not numerous enough...and the store is closed on Sundays. SOON!

Cam

Ok, UPDATE!
I finished the "first iteration" of these guys last night and wow, I am VERY impressed. I'm a pretty poor woodworker at this stage of the game, and I was concerned that my not-so-square cabinets might sound the same way they look...not the case.

IMG00007-20101003-1124.jpg

So, still to-do:
-Rout & mount front baffle/stiffener (Drivers are mounted on single-ply "front" currently)
-Make a proper base/three-leg stand
-Stuff them (currently completely empty)
-Add a helper tweeter?

Despite all that, they sound amazing to my ears. I thought without stuffing they might be overly boomy or fatiguing, but so far they just sound sweet. I've got a bunch of old pillows I can cannibalize for some stuffing material though, so I'll probably add some in the next day or so to compare.

As for the tweeter, I saw reference to a PE tweeter that is since discontinued, and this one which is still in stock: Dayton ND16FA-6 5/8" Neodymium Dome Tweeter | Parts-Express.com

Does anyone have any suggestions for a cheap and synergistic tweeter to pair with these drivers/enclosures? And what, a 2uF capacitor in series and that's all?

Also, I'm very pleasantly surprised with how well my little T-amp is doing powering these - definitely not "party speakers" by any means, but they've got more than enough steam for any critical listening/movies/background music in my purposes.